Rain

As I lay in bed staring out the window, the rain tries to fight its way into my bedroom from my window. The only light outside was from lightning striking often. It felt as though the sky had been holding it in for ages, then finally opening up and letting go.
Down, down, down it came. All throughout the night the clouds cried, but I slept soundly. Suddenly, there was a massive thunder crack! I jolted awake, my heart beating. However, I did not stay awake for long. The pouring rain quickly had me drifting back to sleep.
Hours and hours of pouring rain. Darkness filled my room. When I awoke, the sun had not. It had stopped raining, but the dewy smell still remained. As I was about to get up for the day, the clouds reopened and started pouring again. Thunder rang through the neighborhood, and I drifted back to sleep. When I finally woke up, I could tell the rain was not going to be done for a long, long, long time.

Bokeh-licious
Photo Credit: Vinoth Chandar via Compfight

One thought on “Rain

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *