Frozen

The newest Disney animated movie, Frozen, is popular among lot of people and lots of ages. As probably the most popular movie of the year, everyone knows about it, from the lyrics to all the songs to knowing the more famous lines. However, I think it’s terrible how people don’t actually think about it a lot. There is a lot of things in the movie that not a lot of people realize, and things I think are pretty important.

One thing, for example, that bothers me is when Elsa was telling Anna that she couldn’t marry a man she just met. She acts like she should know better than to do such a thing. I personally think Anna did nothing wrong. When her sister was hidden from the world and locked away, Anna was too. She never had contact with the outside world. Anna was locked inside the castle for majority of her life, and was expected to know what to do when she meets a guy she likes. But when she does the wrong thing, everyone’s surprised!

Another thing is how Elsa and Anna’s parents locked away Elsa and hid her from the world. If they hadn’t, Elsa might have known what to do when everyone found out about her power. She might have figured out how to build and thaw things. Personally, if I was Elsa’s parents, I would have told everyone about Elsa’s powers. I would have let them know before her coronation so that she wouldn’t have freaked out. I also would have changed the rule that you don’t need to uncover your hands when you hold and touch royal items, in hopes that the gloves would help control the power a little. I would have built a room for Elsa to practice her powers in, so she would be able to learn more and practice.

I also would not have cut the connection between Elsa and Anna. Anna and Elsa need each other. The violent separation between the once best friends is not ok and is not fair. Elsa didn’t look like she needed help, but she really did. Anna was struggling with being alone since a very young age, but I don’t get why Disney didn’t show Elsa struggling. If I were the parents, I would have moved Elsa to another room, just in case, but I would have let them hang out together (with supervision) as to try to avoid a lot of conflict that causes their home to freeze.

All in all, I think Frozen’s a great movie. One of Disney’s best, actually (because the Elsa’s love I what saves Anna, not Kristoff’s. Though Disney made a fantastic movie, the movie had some problems. However, maybe it’s just me. Either way, I hope you consider what I say and think about it.

Snowflake macro: dark star
Creative Commons License Photo Credit: Alexey Kljatov via Compfight

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *