Expository

This is strictly an opinion.
Promt: Explain Why Expository Writing is Difficult

“Ugh! I can’t think of a good lead!” “What?! Two reasons?!” “How do I make THIS topic compare with real-life?” Expository writing is very hard!

One reason is finding the reasons. My first expository writing that I wrote was following the topic ‘Explain why Hope is Important.’ My friend, Libby, and I wrote this together, and even with two minds we could barley think of two reasons that made sense! It was insane! We were a little behind because we couldn’t get two good reasons. I think our expository turned out well, but the process was hard. Oh I really despise finding reasons for expository writing!

Furthermore, um…hold on I can’t think of another reason-it’s so hard to find them! Oh, ok. I got one. Furthermore, connecting your topic to real life can be exhaustingly frustrating. I mean, for instance, for a lot of people’s expository writing pieces that I read, they had their topic something along the lines of “Explain Why Chocolate is Enjoyable.” Come on, how do you connect the enjoyable-ness of chocolate to life, then go into turning it into a lesson you can take away? I can’t, so I’m glad I didn’t do that. Relating to real like is one of the, if not the, hardest part of expository writing.

All in all, Expository Writing is very hard. Of course, I know it’s good to learn (hence why I’ve now done 3) because of STAAR tests coming up. I might not like them, but they help. And who knows? Maybe one day I’ll have a job and my boss will say, “Hey Kendall, can you write and explanation as to why blah, blah, blah” (you get the point,) and I’ll be thanking Ms. Schoch and the state of Texas for making me learn how to do that. So, if you excuse me, I have to go make sure none of my “dream-jobs” require me to write Expository Writing pieces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *