From the Kent River Valley

Hi visitors! I’ve decided that I want to tell you a little bit about my name. My name is Kendall, which means “From the Kent River Valley.” For those of you who don’t know me, Kendall is pronounced like the device (kindle). Funnily enough, when I was in fifth grade, my parents got me a Kindle Fire. I haven’t stopped hearing that Kendall has a Kindle since.

Anyway, when my parents were naming me, they were not considering the name Kendall because of its meaning. My mom told me she wanted to name me something that’s meaning was light, and something that was both a boy’s name and a girl’s name. Now, obviously, Kendall does not mean light. However, when you say Kendall out loud, what does it sound like? To me (and a lot of other people), Kendall sounds a lot like candle. Actually, people used to call me Candle when I was younger (it wasn’t very nice, so please don’t).

One interesting, and slighting annoying, thing about my name is how it is spelled, and how other people spell it. I have seen so many spellings of my name it is funny. I have seen Kindle, Kendell, Kendle, Kindel, Kendille (I don’t even get that one), Kendal, and Kindall. None of which are right, but when I tell people how to spell my name they always spell it wrong! My last name is hard to spell too. However, since this is the Internet, I am not going to tell you how people spell my last name, or what it is. All I want you to know is that very little people in my grade can actually spell my name right.

So, now you know a little bit about my name. Now what about you? What does your name mean, and why is that why your parents named you it, or is it another reason, like me? Do you have a name that is hard to spell right, or easy to? What about the ability to say your name? Do people always misspell your name? Do you prefer people to call you something that isn’t your name, like a nickname or your middle name? Leave your answers as a comment please!

3 thoughts on “From the Kent River Valley

  1. I like my name, but my last name is misspelled often. Over the years, some people have called me Linda Lou and just plain Lyn. My grandchildren call me “Granilin”. When I sign Granilin on e-mail, my spell check thinks I meant “Gremlin”.

  2. When I was born. My parents named me Chelsea. Then, deciding that I don’t look like a Chelsea, they changed to Lauren. People tend to misspell my name a lot, but I don’t really understand how.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *